You have no items in your shopping cart.

You have not selected any items to compare.

Diamond Information

Every diamond is a unique miracle of nature, so there are almost as many ways to describe a diamond as there are diamonds. To standardize descriptions of every diamond’s characteristics, a language known as the 4Cs was developed. First introduced to consumers by the De Beers group of companies in 1939, this language is now universally spoken in the diamond world. Each of the 4Cs describes a diamond’s specific characteristics - its cut, color, clarity, and carat weight. These characteristics can be helpful when learning about diamonds, but they are only four of the many, many criteria that can be used to evaluate a diamond. As a result, two diamonds with the same 4Cs criteria may be very different. Forevermark® selects diamonds using criteria beyond the 4Cs to ensure that every diamond to carry the Forevermark® name is truly a beautiful diamond.


Cut is the factor with the most influence on the sparkle of a polished diamond. Cut is expressed in terms of the brilliance, fire, and scintillation of a diamond. To maximize sparkle, a diamond must be cut to very specific parameters of angle and dimension with a strict attention to the polished finish of the diamond.

Crafted by a select group of Diamantaires, each Forevermark® diamond must be cut to a standard of Very Good or Excellent, so you can be sure that each one is a work of art.


Clarity is a measure of a diamond’s purity. Naturally occurring features (known as inclusions) provide a special fingerprint within the diamond. Usually invisible to the naked eye, these tiny features appeared while the diamonds were forming in the earth hundreds of millions or even billions of years ago. Clarity measures the diamond’s purity; it refers to how free a diamond is from these tiny blemishes and inclusions. Forevermark® diamonds are available from Flawless to SI2 (Slightly Included), providing any inclusions do not interfere with the beauty of the diamond, as determined by our experts at the Forevermark® Diamond Institute.


Diamonds occur naturally in all colors of the rainbow. The rarest diamonds exhibit no color at all, apart from fancy colors. Polished diamonds are graded for minute variations in depth of color, from ‘colorless’ to ‘light color’. This is universally known as the D to Z color scale (D meaning ‘exceptional’ and Z meaning ‘tinted color’). Forevermark® inscribes diamonds from D to L color as well as all fancy colors.


Carat is a measure of weight. One carat (1 ct) equals 0.20 grams and is divided into 100 points (so a 1/2 carat − or 0.50 carat − diamond can also be described as a 50 points diamond). As diamonds increase in size, they become increasingly rare in nature. As rarity is an important component of value, a one carat diamond will be worth a great deal more than two 1/2 carat diamonds of equal color, clarity, and cut. Each Forevermark® diamond must be at least 0.14 carats in size.

To learn more about the Forevermark® diamond, please visit

Site Design by Freshley Media.